The Deans of Admission

Amy Abrams, Sarah Lawrence College
Seth Allen, Grinnell College
Philip A. Ballinger, University of Washington
Nancy Benedict, Beloit College
Michael Beseda, St. Mary’s College of California
Donald Bishop, Notre Dame University
Tamara Blocker, Wake Forest University
Jim Bock, Swarthmore College
Jon Boeckenstedt, DePaul University
Shawn Brick, University of California
Thyra Briggs, Harvey Mudd College
Nancy Cable, Bates College
Arlene Cash, Spelman College
Mary Chase, Creighton University
Douglas L. Christiansen, Vanderbilt University
Carmina Cianciulli, Tyler School of Art, Temple University
Robert S. Clagett, formerly of Middlebury College
Lee Coffin, Tufts University
Dennis Craig, Purchase College
Vince Cuseo, Occidental College
Charles Deacon, Georgetown University
Randall C. Deike, New York University
Tom Delahunt, Drake University
Jennifer Delahunty, Kenyon College
Rick Diaz, Southern Methodist University
Stephen M. Farmer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
William Fitzsimmons, Harvard University
Patricia Goldsmith, Scripps College
Christopher Gruber, Davidson College
Christoph Guttentag, Duke University
Katharine L. Harrington, University of Southern California
Pamela T. Horne, Purdue University
Monica Inzer, Hamilton College
Jeannine Lalonde, University of Virginia
John Latting, Johns Hopkins University
Jean Lee, Yale University
Jess Lord, Haverford College
Garrett Marino, Purchase College
Quinton McArthur, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kitty McCarthy, Northern Illinois University
Nancy Hargrave Meislahn, Wesleyan University
Richard Nesbitt, Williams College
Alton Newell, Washington & Jefferson College
Jim Nondorf, University of Chicago
Tom Parker, Amherst College
Delsie Phillips, formerly of Lynn University
Bruce Poch, formerly of Pomona College
Jenny Rickard, Bryn Mawr College
Lorne T. Robinson, Macalester College
Arnaldo Rodriguez, Pitzer College
Nancy M. Rothschild, Syracuse University
Daniel J. Saracino, formerly of Notre Dame University
Stuart Schmill, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Richard H. Shaw, Stanford University
Ted Spencer, University of Michigan
Fumio Sugihara, University of Puget Sound
Steven T. Syverson, Lawrence University
Steve Thomas, Colby College
Roger Thompson, University of Oregon
Keith Todd, Reed College
Kelly Walter, Boston University
James Washington, Jr., Dartmouth College
Christopher Watson, Northwestern University
Rebekah Westphal, Yale University
Jarrid Whitney, California Institute of Technology
Susan A. Wilbur, formerly of University of California

Financial aid officers

Vincent Amoroso, Johns Hopkins University
Leslie Limper, Reed College
Mary Morrison, Stanford University
Alison Rabil, Duke University
Diane Stemper, Ohio State University

High school college counselors

Charlene Aguilar, Lakeside School, Seattle, WA
Ali Bhanji, formerly of Potomac School, McLean, VA
Natalie Bitton, Lycee Francais La Perouse, San Francisco, CA
Melanie Choukrane, The Brearley School, New York, NY
Mark Clevenger, Menlo School, Atherton, CA
James Conroy, New Trier High School, Winnetka, IL
Neal Cousins, The Haverford School, Haverford, PA
Susan Dean, Castilleja School, Palo Alto, CA
Jeff Haviland, Strath Haven High School, Swarthmore, PA
Deb Kelly, Newman Central Catholic High School, Sterling, IL
Alice Kleeman, Menlo-Atherton High School, Atherton, CA
Marybeth Kravets, formerly of Deerfield High School, Deerfield, IL
Brad Magowan, Newton North High School, Newton MA
Rod Skinner, Milton Academy, Milton, MA
Laura Stewart, The Ensworth School, Nashville, TN
Patricia Ustick, formerly of Portsmouth School and East Greenwich High School, East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Jan Williams, formerly of Dartmouth High School, Dartmouth, MA


Denise Clark Pope, Stanford University School of Education, Founder of Challenge Success
Gina Coleman, Williams College
Linda DeAngelo, Higher Education Research Institute, University of California, Los Angeles
Emily Froimson, Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
Leslie Hawkins, Higher Education Research Institute, Graduate School of Education and Information Studies, University of California, Los Angeles
Fred Mims, Associate Director of Athletics, University of Iowa
Holly Thompson, Castilleja School, Palo Alto, CA
Bruce VanDeVelde, Athletics Director, Louisiana Tech
Belinda Wilkerson, Rhode Island School Counseling Project, Providence College
MaryJo Yannacone, Principal, Strath Haven High School, Swarthmore, PA


Scott Anderson, The Common Application, Inc.
Maureen Brown, Executive Director Challenge Success
Jon Erickson, Senior Vice President, ACT, Inc.
Carrie Evans, Co-founder, Educators for Fair Consideration
Katharine Gin, Co-founder, Educators for Fair Consideration
Scott Gomer, ACT, Inc.
Rob Killion, Executive Director, The Common Application
Jim Montoya, The College Board
Erica Pierson, Naviance,Inc.
Martha Pitts, The College Board
Rose Rennekamp, ACT, Inc.
Jay Rosner, Executive Director, The Princeton Review Foundation
Bob Schaeffer, Fair Test
Linda Gray Sexton, author
Joyce Smith, National Association for College Admission Counseling
Kathleen Fineout Steinberg, The College Board
Ellen Sussman, author and writing teacher
Kris Zavoli, The College Board

Parenting experts

Michael Riera, author of Uncommon Sense for Parents of Teenagers
Michael Thompson, Ph.D., author of The Pressured Child
Rosalind Wiseman, author of Queen Bees & Wannabes

Independent counselors

Jane McClure
John Perlman
Irena Smith

Like our content? Get more delivered weekly to your inbox: